Contentment Challenge

When you are discontent, you always want more, more, more. Your desire can never be satisfied. But when you practice contentment, you can say to yourself, ‘Oh yes – I already have everything that I really need’.”  – Dalai Lama

In this season of grace, renewal and fresh starts, I have decided to participate in Nancy Ray’s Contentment Challenge beginning April 1. The remainder of this month will be used to read, prepare my closet, office and heart for big changes. This is something that I’ve been thinking of doing since last  year and it is time!

Now, if you know me at all, you know that my love of pretty is accompanied by a weakness for Target, online boutiques and anything that catches my eye anywhere. However, the busier I get, the less I’m shopping and the happier I am with what I have. Gratitude truly changes everything. I’m so aware of the excess we have and the BIG difference between true needs and blatant wants.

dc8b8129471df697395e41bb67c0eb88

{La Boheme}

Notice, that does not say your home, clothes or possessions… Hmmm. I’m not posting this to guilt anyone who loves shopping or material goods. We all do, let’s just be honest about that. This is for my accountability and to invite anyone who would like to join me.

The Challenge is absolutely a personal decision and a journey that I am so looking forward to. I’m not naive enough to think this is going to be easy. After all, I’ve decided to do this smack dab in the middle of a busy social schedule, including my branding shoot and some fun and flirty fashion seasons. Not to mention, 80% of my current wardrobe is at least 4 years old. What am I thinking? Honestly, the fact that it’s hard is why I am doing this. The best things in life are not often the easy ones. I know this will be a season of growth and self discovery – that is beyond scary and exciting.

We will give up shopping for clothes, accessories, household decor, and “stuff” for 3 months, to focus our hearts and minds on the root of true contentment. We will actively pursue fulfilling activities that will replace our addiction to material things.”

I’m not good at subtle change, it has to be all or nothing, so here it goes. I’m diving in and getting excited! My replacement activities will be exercise and writing. I might even pick up some other hobbies along the way, who knows. I’m getting so fired up about this, who’s with me?

xoxo- Jenn

Leave some Love