Apples Galore

wilsons

A few weeks ago, AJP and I went to an Apple Orchard in our area to enjoy the beautiful weather and explore a bit. We ended up with a bounty just shy of 8 pounds of yumminess. Not to mention the cider, apple donuts and turnover we got for the road. Let me tell you friends, it was such a fun adventure and we might have to go back for some pumpkins!

After realizing how much we came home with, I went on a mission to find sweet and savory recipes to use all of the goods to their fullest potential. Of course, I made applesauce and turnovers, and a delicious Smothered Pork Chops dish {all recipes linked at end of post}.

The biggest hit was the delicious turnover recipe from Ina Garten. I didn’t use cherries, but all else was fantastic!

IMG_1812

Lastly, I attempted an Apple Cake Tatin, which proved to require more finesse than I have. It tasted “delicious” as I was told, but it certainly looked like it had been through battle. Word to the wise, when making this truly butter that dish well! I also don’t think I used enough apple so that might be why my caramel stuck to the dish…. Lessons learned I suppose.

What is your favorite way to cook with apples?

xoxo- Jenn

Recipes: Applesauce, Turnovers, Smothered Pork Chops, Apple Cake Tatin

Leave some Love

