Dixie State of Mind

I have a little confession to make, it might shock a few of you, it might make sense to some of you who read between the lines. Who knows… Though I’ve lived in the Midwest for the last decade plus and grew up a modern day gypsy, I must confess that I am a complete Southern girl at heart. I call it a confession, because Southern culture is so steeped in tradition and family, that I almost feel like an impostor wanna-be.

Then I remember that my family has some deep Southern roots. I spent much of my childhood in the South, I have a borderline unhealthy obsession with Sweet Tea, pearls, peach pie and monograms. Fried Green Tomatoes, grits and greens {of the collard variety, of course} are among my favorite foods. Seersucker and linen are my favorite summer fabrics and I am a sucker for a good old fashioned “Yes Ma’am” coming from a two year old. It is the region in which I feel most at home in the continental US.

Do y’all remember my discussion of home over here? I know I said home isn’t a place, but if I had to choose a place, it would hands down be below the Mason Dixon. My Dad has even been on Ancestry.com and found so many southern ties, it’s making me giddy. So, over the next while, you might see a few Inspiration Tuesdays centered around some of my favorites, a few mentions of Southern Lovin’ and who knows what else? A few recipes maybe? Also, I will likely stop crossing out my natural y’all’s.

a37d173c5f0fd293640e11b160343126

{Aaron Delesie}

Oh my goodness, these chicken topiaries crack me up! What are your favorite things about the South (whether you live there, have visited or just dream)?

xoxo- Jenn

Leave some Love

