Jazz, it’s Good for the Soul

How many times do we stop to enjoy life and put off our to-do lists? Seriously, be really honest.

For me, that is very rare. I’m a very driven person and once I get an idea in my head, I do whatever is needed to make it a reality. Though sometimes (most of the time) I can be driven to a fault at the expense of quality time; that is something I’m trying to consciously work on. Last week, we decided to have an impromptu date night amidst all of the craziness we have going on. Let me tell you, even though I was very excited (and it was my idea), I felt like I couldn’t forget my to-do list and be in the moment. That is very difficult for me, regardless of where I am or what I’m doing– there is always something else to do and not forget. Well friends, enter my dear AJP to force me to de-stress, even though I didn’t think I needed it {because of course, I’m a great multi-tasker…}.

I’ve always been a music lover {I credit my parents with that}. We were always surrounded by beautiful melodies, sing-alongs in the car, and old vinyl with that glorious crackle of days gone by. I didn’t realize quite how much it speaks to my soul until Thursday.

We went to an outdoor Jazz Concert at Brucemore – a beautiful mansion in Cedar Rapids with the loveliest garden and grounds. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect and despite my being antsy beforehand, as soon as the drums started and that smooth saxophone kicked in, I was hooked. I felt all of the stress melt away and just enjoyed the moment. Yes, I had to take a few pictures on my phone {I’d left my camera in the car- how could I?}, but after a few initial shots, I just laid back and enjoyed the tunes. I didn’t even think about anything while listening, except memories that it brought back to mind and how joyous the notes were that carried over us in that sweet summer air. I was back spending a summer in the South with my Maw-Maw and Paw-Paw. All that was missing was my sweet tea. We enjoyed the performing audience members with their cool moves, watched children dance and play, laughed with each other and just were.

from my iphone

from my iphone, I apologize for the blurriness…

If you haven’t taken some time to just be lately, I highly recommend it. There is something so renewing and peaceful about no distractions and being in a state of complete relaxation surrounded by people you love. Maybe you are most relaxed in the quiet of your own company- that works too.

I challenge you all to take at least 2 hours this week to unplug, relax and recharge. It is 10000% worth it and you will be better able to tackle that nagging to do list afterwards.

What is your “jazz”?

xoxo- Jenn

Leave some Love

