Scone Love

Simple, delicious and special recipes are my favorite. Another of my favorite things- Brunch! It’s the best meal ever dreamed up in my opinion– breakfast, pastry/desserts and savory yummies. You can have your cake and eat it too!! Sadly, not everyone shares my love for brunch. So this weekend, I decided to satisfy my craving for scones- brunch or no brunch.

Last time I attempted to make my own scones, it was disastrous. I used a recipe that required a food processor- which I didn’t have at the time- Fail. They were hard as a rock and I was embarrassed to even ask Adam to taste them! As a result, it’s been 4 years since I’ve even wanted to try making some.

For those of you that don’t have a food processor, delicious scones are possible! I found an great recipe on AllRecipes.com that is amazing and so simple. You can even change the serving number and it calculates the new measurements for you, which is a bonus for the math-impaired like yours truly! I couldn’t help but laugh when I read that it says to grate frozen butter, but it was kind of fun to do and it works. Another great thing about this one, it can be done with a food processor as well. AND it’s so basic, you can change the flavor profile just by subbing in any fruit you want for the listed raisins. So easy!!

I made Blueberry Lemon and Pomegranate Orange scones. My favorites are Blueberry and Cranberry Orange, but I couldn’t find Craisins at the store yesterday, so I got some Pomegranate fruit strips and finely diced them instead.

scone fruit

So next, how do you make that adorable triangle shape? Just flour your work surface, pat out your dough and cut. The recipe says to make a circle with your dough, but I did a rectangle and cut it into strips, which then became my triangles.

Serve with a cup of tea or coffee and you have a perfect breakfast pastry and/or snack to enjoy slowly on the porch!

scones final b

What is your favorite brunch recipe?

xoxo- Jenn

Leave some Love

