June Goals: Summer Lovin’

Hello Summer! I know I say this every month, but this year seems to be flying by faster than they usually do. Here in good ole’ Cedar Rapids, they call it the “City of Five Seasons” and I have decided, typical jokes aside, that the fifth season is indecisiveness. We’ve been having such bipolar weather here lately and it’s messing with my summer excitement. Hopefully June will bring lots of sun and fabulous barbecues, time outside with friends, wonderful farmer’s market mornings and lots of delicious Sweet Tea and vine ripe tomato snacks!

Last month, I reviewed all of my goals for the year and made a progress report. Though I was refocused at the time, it only lasted a week once things picked up and we got busier. That is no excuse Jennifer! Do you guys feel like sometimes it’s so hard to focus on the things you want to? Like you’re getting pulled in 50 directions at the same time and none of them are where your heart truly wishes to spend that time?

193_556900010899_994_n

Throwback from Daytona Beach

Goal numero uno this month- continue with SMFW’s! I’ve been partaking in Social Media Free Weekends the past few weeks in an attempt to take control of my time again. I have to tell you, it feels so good to not feel the urge to look at my phone constantly or log into Facebook or Instagram to stay “in the know”. It’s so liberating and I accomplish so much more. Not to mention, because I’m focusing on the things I want to accomplish, I’m also getting them done better and in less time. Which means that I have more time to spend quality time with the people I love. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not as if I never did any of that before, but I’m more efficient now.

Change it up. I’ve gotten back into a great workout routine and I’m starting to see and feel the results. This month, I need to try some new exercises and get running again. That will be a challenge in and of itself because it means probably forcing myself to become a morning person… UGH! But– I can do this!

Mental Adventures. In making more time for what matters, that MUST include more reading and taking mental breaks. To me, that means escaping into the written word- on paper, not electronic. Something about the smell of printed pages just makes me so excited. Yes, I’m a dork. I have a notebook that I started in high school with pages and pages of books I’d like to read and it’s not getting any smaller! I have a few books I’m currently in the middle of, plus the Bible that I’ve been working my way through (very slowly, but surely!). If you have any recommendations, I’d love to hear them!

This summer is going to have so many exciting things going on and I can’t wait to start! What are your summer plans? Any good book or workout recommendations?

xoxo- Jenn

3 thoughts on “June Goals: Summer Lovin’

  1. Hi Jenn, Track your books on http://www.goodreads.com. While it’s not a ‘paper’ list, it still provides a great place to get good reviews, give reviews, keep a running list of your ‘to-reads’, and even share notes with friends. Warning, list of want to reads will grow exponentially though! Donna

Leave some Love

