Sidewalk Chalk Adventures

“Our spring has come at last with the soft laughter of April suns and shadow of April showers.”

~Byron Caldwell Smith

Spring has finally arrived in the midwest and we took full advantage! We spent a wonderful weekend going on many walks and hearing children playing, pups barking, birds chirping and soaking up the sun. I cannot tell you how glorious it is to be outside again without feeling like the Michelin Man.

While strolling, I kept noticing all of the beautiful artwork that the neighborhood kids left for our enjoyment. There was a “Henry’s Deli”, rainbows, a few Hello Kitty masterpieces and so much adorable doodling I couldn’t help smiling. When AJP asked me what was so funny, I just told him how it reminded me so much of my childhood. Spring meant getting to be outside until bed time, going on adventures and yes, creating “beautiful masterpieces” on our driveway. Some of the best spring and summer days involved adventures into our drawings. You read that right — INTO our drawings.

Any of my family members can tell you that I had a little bit of imagination as a kid. I thought that fairy tales were real and that Disney movies just had to be documentaries. I dreamed of romance and action adventures simultaneously and always had to be moving, climbing or creating. So, it should be no surprise that we used to go on Sidewalk Chalk Adventures – Mary Poppins Style {music video & choreography to come… someday}. We’d draw out our daydreams and then “leap” into them. One day we’d explore the land of Lily Pads, the next climb the tallest tree to see the King arrive home in his carriage. Maybe the next week we’d battle the clan across the field from Fort Pine. The fact that these adventures took place in our backyard and we were just waiting for Daddy to get home or playing war with friends, Watership Down style- it didn’t matter. We were world travelers and purveyors of wonder!

As we get older we seem to forget about those fantastical daydreams (perhaps if only until we have children of our own, so I hear?). We fall into routine and get so bogged down and jaded with daily life as adults. I am constantly amazed at how random little reminders pop up when things start to get “blah”. It’s like a little whisper telling me to wake up and SEE the beauty and joy that is all around me. Thanks for the reminder!

In that spirit, I stopped for some sidewalk chalk on my way home today. We slowed down and put off our to do list to enjoy some time with our inner child selves. They have really upped the ante on the rainbow of colors you can get nowadays too!

IMG_0569

I’m certainly not going to claim to be any better of an artist than when I was ten, but we sure did have fun dreaming about our summer vacation and enjoying some time in Neverland! Love this man!! Who else would indulge in these silly endeavors with me?

chalk with adam

Sadly, rain is forecast for the rest of the week, but we sure do know how to make the most of the good days!

What are some of your favorite warm weather memories?

xoxo- Jenn

Leave some Love

