Time Travel Anyone?

Seriously, when is someone going to invent time travel or a way to “beam” ourselves places?!? Skype-dates are a “close but no cigar” kinda thing and since we can’t all be 50 places at once, this is my official request that some brilliant mind successfully brings a beam to the masses. But truly, growing up and scattering to the four winds is hard!

I was reminded this past weekend that no amount of girly lunches or shopping dates can be a substitute for a full weekend with my bestie filled with all things that feel “oh so silly”. Don’t get me wrong, those are always welcome retreats from reality, but just not quite the same. No matter how crazy life gets, there are always those few people that can put things in perspective and transport us to a completely different state of happiness.

true friendship nothing changes

We all have friends that remind us of various times in our lives and cause us to reminisce. Maybe there are a handful, each from different periods, that catapult you back to 6th grade, high school, or your crazy college days (maybe even all of the above). Sometimes it’s fun to just fall back into old habits and mentalities- to just be carefree and let go. I found a renewed sense of joy in cooking, entertaining and shopping with someone who is having as much fun as I am (not doing their best to act interested in a fabulous shirt or piece of jewelry and not like they are ready to run out of the store, bless their patient heart!!). Someone with the same taste in shoes and swimwear, accessories, decor and those adorable little note cards! Who gets just as excited when our baked goods turn out just the right color and texture, loves a beautiful spread of food, understands the need for place-mats and table settings, and honestly could spend hours talking about nothing important.

two good friends

I came across this quote in my old journal a while back and it’s stuck with me recently:

“I believe in angels, the kind that heaven sends. I’m surrounded by angels, and I call them my best friends.” – Pamela Daranjo

I treasure my friendships and am so grateful for each and every one of them. As we grow up, we spread out and staying in touch or spending time together gets more difficult. It makes me forget how special time with them truly is. Whether it’s family or “practically family”, quality time and conversations are absolutely the gas that fills my tank! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, memories and the people you surround yourself with are what comprise the beautiful mosaic that we call life.

Have any of you found a great way to stay in touch and keeps your relationships thriving and growing? Maybe you created a tradition or even have to schedule time. I’d love to hear your secrets!

xoxo- Jenn

Leave some Love

