Sweet Soiree: Sips & Deliciousness

Happy Tuesday friends!

As promised, albeit late, here is a little wrap up of our party a week and a half ago. I’ve already showed you a bit of the prep and prettiness, so now it is on to menus, sips and fun!

I started out trying to rename everything on the menu with some super creative love theme, but that didn’t pan out too well. We had heavy hors dourves, dessert and drinks. There are so many options when thinking up a menu, not mention the desire for ease and simplicity when it comes time to get in the kitchen! Desserts were the easy part, of course. We definitely needed some salty balance and since the party was at 5, it needed to be relatively substantial. So here is what I came up with…

vday menu

{Links & recipes can be found below}

For sips, I wanted something fruity and pink, so I decided to go with Raspberry Lemonade Spritzers!

It doesn’t get any simpler than this! All you need is a bottle of your favorite raspberry lemonade, Sprite and Peach Izze. You can do equal parts of all 3 or just mix 2. My favorite was the lemonade and Izze. The combination of all 3 proved to be the crowd favorite though. If you want to make a grown up version, add some vodka.

sips and food

Here are just a few images of our spirited game of Cranium (one of my top 3 board games!) Being goofy and making silly memories with friends is the best. Lil’ Mr. Cooper joined in on the fun, too.  Note to self — It’s also a good rule of thumb to not put your husband on a team with his best friend — a 20+ year friendship wreaks havoc on the rest of our scores!! Regardless, we had a blast and I, for one, can’t wait for our next get together.

friends and fun

I hope everyone has a wonderful rest of the week. We may or may not be digging out of some snow in the morning and will be very busy getting a head start on our “spring” cleaning the rest of the week. I’m doing my best to hurry it along! This girl needs some sun!

xoxo- Jenn

Menu notes:

Heart Paninis: Just your basic sandwich fixin’s and I used a larger heart shaped cookie cutter to cut the bread. Assemble and throw on the panini press.

Tomato Gazpacho (heated): Gazpacho is meant to be served cold. Most people don’t enjoy that in my circle, so I simply heated it on the stove before serving. It’s a fresh and healthy version of homemade tomato soup!

Homemade Fries: I made this recipe with russet and sweet potatoes. Instead of salt, I used garlic rosemary and tuscan seasoning mixes that I had in the cabinet.

Red Velvet cupcakes (I’ve made the Sprinkles version since college & this is the best link I could find), chocolate chip cookies (BHG classic &  I add a tsp of cinnamon), brownies (shamelessly from a box) – to achieve the hearts, I just baked them on a sheet and used a cookie cutter, then decorated!

One thought on “Sweet Soiree: Sips & Deliciousness

Leave some Love

