DIY: Brighten Up Your Space

Today is a little bit of a different DIY and one I hesitate to share because it’s committing one of the “cardinal sins” of decorating…

I miss having bright flowers so much, I’m turning to silk flowers. Don’t get me wrong, there is a big variety and they are pretty, but nothing can come close to being as lovely as real, fresh flowers. In my opinion, Spring cannot come fast enough and I’m not waiting any longer. So, this weekend I went to Joann’s and picked up a few blooms to craft a few arrangements to brighten up my Girl Cave and our living room.

If you want to make a silk arrangement, it’s as simple as any other floral arrangement. All you need are the blooms, sand or glass beads, a vase and wire cutters.

tri flowers

I prefer to use a neutral and a few accent colors. Neutral does not mean white, just the base color that you want everything to pop off of. Remember: any of this applies to fresh florals too.

This week, I was in the mood for a full and fluffy look. Other times I like a “mish-mosh” of textures. The fun part about this is that it can be anything you want it to be, as long as it makes you smile when you walk into the room!

flowers

I’m keeping this one short and sweet for you bloggies. I’m off to bake some Valentine’s goodies and enjoy an evening with my Love. I hope you all spend tonight with people you love.

valentines

xoxo- Jenn

Leave some Love

