Goals vs. Resolutions, part 3

Here we are at the end of another weekend and the beginning of a week that I hope you’ll all make beautiful. It seems only fitting that this week is the one I share my word for 2013, though that was not planned, I promise.

As I was working through all of this soul searching and honesty, I found myself always relating back to Love. It has always been such a central part of my life; something very much instilled in me by my parents. Everything I’ve been reflecting on always was rooted in Love. That is how I strive to live my life and I can’t see any other word being more important. As you read through my goals, know that they were all written with Love in mind. What is your word for 2013? 

invest love

For those of you that have been working through Lara’s process (take a look over here), here are the last two steps! If you’re just joining the conversation and want to set some goals for the year, you can find the rest of this mini series here and here.

Step 9: Review and Refine

Go back through all of your notes and think about how you can refine and focus in on more specific ideas. This was hard for me to do without jumping into writing out my goals. It took me a full week to get to a point where I felt ready to write out my detailed goals.

Step 10: GOALS!

We’ve made it lovelies! When setting your goals, go into detail. Make sure they fit within your vision. Be sure to have a WHY for each goal you write down. There should be an end result with purpose. If you don’t know why you want to do something, it could probably use more thought and refining – you might need to go back to step 9 for a few things and that is ok too.

In the past, I’ve felt anxiety about writing my goals out, but again, none of this is set in stone. In fact, throughout the year, your goals should evolve and change.

I’m so excited to share some of my goals with you. I’m going to be posting monthly, focused goals starting in March, so I’ll keep it basic here.

  1. Get healthier: I’m not striving for a number here. I want to feel good about myself and be fit. I want to have the energy and self-confidence that comes with eating better and exercising regularly. I want to get Adam involved too, make a lifestyle change for our family. It’ll lead to a better quality of life.
  2. De-clutter & Organize: To me, clutter = chaos = stress. I’d like to have a streamlined and simplified life that leaves room to focus on other things that matter.
  3. Give: I’m not just talking about things, though I want to give that too. I want to give more of my time and my heart. This world is far too much in the mindset of “me, me, me” and I want to do my part, albeit small, to get away from that.
  4. Stop Worrying: Overanalyzing and stressing about things is exhausting. I want to let go more and trust that things will be fine work out for the better, the way they are supposed to. There is only so much I can control, forget the rest to be happier.
  5. Be Present: I want to live in the moment, with fewer distractions so that I can make better and more meaningful memories, have more conversations, learn more, experience more and be a better person to be around.
  6. Take a Vacation: I want to take a trip with Adam this year. Even if it’s only a weekend get away, it’ll allow us to relax and do fun and different things together. Plus, it would be a great tradition to start since our list of travel destinations seems never-ending.
  7. Have New Experiences: I want to broaden my perspective and knowledge about an array of things, and some I’m sure I haven’t discovered yet. The world has so much to offer and I don’t want to keep waiting for it to come to me. I believe in growing and learning and that it will make me a better person, wife, daughter, sister and friend.
  8. Be Creative: I want to learn more about photography, start scrapbooking again, and just get inspired. This is one of the core things that make me happy. Life without color, art and new ideas is just plain blasé. There is so much beauty surrounding us, it would be a shame not to share it!
  9. Develop & Grow HarperHadley: I really enjoy writing, though I’m not a great writer. I really want to get better at conveying my thoughts through the written word. I want to grow HH into a blog that people are inspired by and want to read. I want to earn followers and get feedback from them. This is a pretty ambitious goal, but one that I’m very excited for!
  10. Connect: This is a BIG one for me. As the world gets more into social media and we all get busy, the meaningful and personal connections we have sometimes don’t get the attention they deserve. I want to speak to my friends and family more regularly. I want to write letters, not emails or text messages, to the important people in my life. This doesn’t just mean people far away. I want to leave more love notes for my husband, send encouragement in print, spread the love snail mail style – just plain INVEST in my relationships in a new way.

Those are a few of my big goals for this year. What are some of yours?

Well friends, we’ve finally made it to the “end” of the process. This is the end of the beginning. Every three to four months, schedule a check-in to re-evaluate along the way. Like I said in part one, this is an organic process. I hope you feel a sense of renewal and excitement, like I do. Seriously, if it’s this week, May, or even October– whenever you read this, it’s never a bad time or too late to start setting goals for yourself.

Here are a few old photos to remind me to just let loose and enjoy/live in the little moments, they are fleeting after all.

TX goof 1 wedding goofy convertible goofing

Now, go ahead — call someone you love just because or de-clutter your desk or go hug someone or dance around and sing at the top of your lungs. If you really want to, do all of the above!

xoxo- Jenn

Leave some Love

